4 Foods To Avoid If You’re Gluten Intolerant

Foods that contain wheat, rye, barley in any form should be completely avoided. The following is the list of such foods:

Bakery products: White, brown, whole wheat, multi grain and other types of breads. Wheat in all forms including semolina, corn flour, biscuits, pasta, triticale (a combination of wheat and rye), durum, broken wheat and couscous

Rye It is considered as an excellent raw material for new types of functional foods and is used to coat or flour meat, poultry, seafood and vegetables. These foods may also be marinated in gluten containing liquid or sauce. It is also used to make alcoholic products. Rye may be a component in breads or various ready to eat foods.

Barley: It is available as flour and also as a component of various products. Processed form of this grain is used as a component of consumer products in the form of thickeners, binders or extenders examples are soups, bread and cereals.

Oats: Various studies have shown that oats are safe for celiac patients but few patients may still be sensitive to oats. Sometimes oats are produced in the same place as wheat, barley and rye and mixing of flours may happen with oats. Pure uncontaminated oats which are labeled as 100% pure oats may be better option for them.

Visit our YouTube channel for more videos related to food therapy!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *